2016 - Arnold O. Beckman Award Winner
Prof Bohuslav Gaš (2nd from left) received the Arnold O. Beckman award on Monday, April 4th, at MSB 2016 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, from Prof James Landers, Chair of the MSB Strategic Planning Committee left, Philip Britz-McKibbin, Chair of MSB 2016(far right). The award was sponsored by SCIEX, represented by Jeff Chapman, Senior Director CE Business, SCIEX (2nd from right).
Professor Bohuslav Gaš obtained his undergraduate and doctoral degrees from Charles University in Prague in the Czech Republic, in 1975 and 1979, respectively. His was first employed by the Research Institute of Organic Syntheses, Analytical-Physical Laboratories, in Pardubice, in the Czech Republic, where he was engaged in the theory of electronic spectra and quantum chemistry. Later, he joined the Jaroslav Heyrovský Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry, in Prague, where his research was devoted to optical properties of ruthenium complexes. In 1988, he was appointed to the Faculty of Science of Charles University. From this point on he has been engaged in the theory and practice of electromigration separation processes. He developed the contactless conductivity detector though most of his effort has been devoted, together with his colleagues, to the development of the mathematical models of electromigration and their implementation to the software tools Simul and PeakMaster. He has advised 25 master and doctoral students and has published 130 papers. He has been a Deputy Editor of Electrophoresis (Wiley-VCH), and for 13 years he was the Editor of Special Issues of Electrophoresis on Fundamentals. For the last seven years he has been in the position of the Dean of the Faculty of Science of Charles University and also a member of the Presidium of the Czech Science Foundation.
Stacks Image 2448
2016 - CASSS Travel Grant Recipients:
Presented by Cari Sanger, Director, CASSS to:

Gábor Járvás
University of Pannonia (Hungary)

Takayuki Kawai
Quantitative Biology Center, RIKEN (Japan)

Saara Mikkonen
KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)

Anna Tycova
Institute of Analytical Chemistry (Czech Republic)

Stephen Groskreutz
University of Pittsburgh (USA)

Zuqin Xue
University at Buffalo (USA)

Stacks Image 2493
2016 - MSB 2016 - Poster Awards
Sven Kochmann
York University (Canada)
Sponsored by Analytical Chemistry Division of the CSC

Feriel Melaine
McGill University (Canada)
Sponsors by Gilead; McMaster University

Nicolas Drouin
University of Geneva (Switzerland)
Sponsored by Chemical Institute of Canada
Winner of the Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate, Lab-on-a-Chip

Nazmul Alam
University of Waterloo (Canada)
Sponsored by McMaster University
Winner of the Royal Scociety of Chemistry Certificate, Analyst
2016 - MSB 2016 - 3-Miniute Talk Awards
Micelle Saoi
McMaster University (Canada)
Sponsored by
Apotex and University. of Montreal

Ana Sanches-Silva
National Institute of Health (Portugal)
Sponsored by Chemical Institute of Canada

Catherine Perrin
Université de Montpellier (France)
Sponsored by University of Montreal