Arnold O. Beckman Award
Arnold O. Beckman Medal and Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements in The Field Of Electrodriven Separations Techniques
Stacks Image 1437
This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of electrodriven separation techniques and comprises a Medal and a $5,000 prize, and reimbursement of reasonable travel expenses to the MicroScale Separations and Bioanalysis (MSB) symposium at which the award will be presented. A nominee must have made an outstanding carrier achievement supported by a significant body of work in the field of electrodriven separations and technologies with particular consideration given to developments of new methods, techniques, and high impact applications. This award is presented annually during the MSB conferences. The award is presented during a Special Award Plenary Session followed  by a Lecture from the recipient. "At SCIEX, We are very pleased to be the sponsor of this medal and award in the name of Dr. Arnold O Beckman", whose inspiration was a key driver behind the first commercialization of capillary electrophoresis technology says Jeff Chapman, Senior Director, Separations Business Unit, SCIEX.
Stacks Image 1442
Professor Barry L. Karger of the Barnett Institute of the Chemistry and Chemical Biology Department at Northeastern University in Boston was presented with the 2014 Arnold O. Beckman Award and Medal for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Electrodriven Separations during the 30th International Symposium on MicroScale Bioseparations and Analyses in Pecs, Hungary. Professor Karger is one of the greatest separation scientists as demonstrated by his numerous groundbreaking contributions to his craft. No doubt, his nomination and selection was based on his outstanding contribution to electrophoresis and microscale bioseparations as demonstrated with hundreds of his publications concerning investigations of separation principles in capillary electrophoresis and micro/nano HPLC as well as with their application to bioanalysis of peptides, proteins, and nucleic acids. For example, the fundamental work on capillary electrophoresis performed under his leadership led to the development of high-resolution DNA separations with gel filled capillaries. This technique then became one of the very important cornerstones enabling deciphering of the human genome. He is also credited for the studies leading to understanding the essentials of reverse phase chromatography of proteins that was critical for development of bioseparation science and its broad application in pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Stacks Image 1459
Professor Wilhelm Einar Stellan Hjertén of the Uppsala University was presented with the Arnold O. Beckman Award and Medal for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Electrodriven Separations on Monday, March 11, 2013 during the 29th International Symposium on MicroScale Bioseparations in Charlottesville, Virginia, USA. Stellan Hjertén's investigations have been devoted to various techniques for the purification and characterization of biological substances including proteins, viruses and bacteria, to what he calls the artificial antibodies. His methods were distinguished by not permitting interactions, in chromatography, between the solute and chromatographic bed, and in electrophoresis, between the solute and the supporting medium - all surfaces with which analytes came in contact had to be hydrophilic. This led to his introduction of agarose and polyacrylamide gels for chromatography and electrophoresis. During his rich research life, he invented, promoted, and developed many new materials, techniques, terms, and theories. Clearly, it would be difficult to find a biochemist or analytical chemist who has never heard of Stellan Hjertén and his accomplishments. "Professor Hjertén's career truly embodies the values in which this award was created to acknowledge, and his scientific legacy has shaped what is now state-of-the-art implementation of electrophoresis"  says Jeff Chapman, Director of Scientific Alliances at Beckman Coulter.
Stacks Image 1464
Professor Pier Giorgio Righetti of the Polytechnic of Milano Department of Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering was presented with the inaugural Arnold O. Beckman Award and Medal for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Electrodriven Separations on Monday, February 13 2012 during the 27th International Symposium on MicroScale Bioseparations and Analyses in Geneva, Switzerland. "My life as a scientist started with a Beckman DU single-beam spectrophotometer," Prof. Righetti reflected. "Little did I know then that Beckman was the name of the inventor, a California scientist who had engineered not just this most useful instrument, or that years later, I would be grateful to the man and the company for their contributions to the growth of science, for their generous foundation offering grants to young scientists and for this most recent honor."
Stacks Image 1469
The history of Beckman Coulter is one of innovation, beginning with Dr. Arnold O. Beckman’s solution for determining the precise measurement of pH in lemon juice — the acidimeter, or pH meter. From a small operation in the rear of a garage in Pasadena, Calif., to its position today as a world leader in clinical diagnostics and life science research, Beckman Coulter owes its success to three men of vision who revolutionized science and medicine: Arnold O. Beckman, Ph.D, and brothers Wallace and Joseph Coulter. The Arnold O. Beckman Medal and Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Field of Electrodriven Separations is one way the company continues to celebrate the spirit of scientific innovation.
The 2015 Arnold O. Beckman Award Winner
Prof Gyula Vigh (center) received the Arnold O. Beckman award on Tuesday, April 28th, at MSB 2015 in Shanghai, from Prof James Landers, Chair of the MSB Strategic Planning Committee. The award was sponsored by SCIEX, represented by Jeff Chapman, Senior Director CE Business Unit, SCIEX. (Photo: Business Wire)
Professor Gyula Vigh earned his undergraduate and doctoral degrees from the University of Chemical Engineering, Veszprem, Hungary, in 1970 and 1975, respectively, and became a faculty member there, in the Institute of Analytical Chemistry. In 1985 he joined Texas A&M University, where he served two terms as chairman of the Analytical Division in the Department of Chemistry. In 2001, Dr. Vigh was appointed to Texas A&M University’s Gradipore Chair in Separation Science. He also served as a Symposium Volumes editor for the Journal of Chromatography and was a member of the editorial boards of the major chromatographic and electrophoretic journals.
His research focused on both the theoretical and practical aspects of high performance chromatographic and electrophoretic separation methods. At Texas A&M University, he graduated 34 PhD students, published 178 papers, and obtained 5 US patents. In 2011, he received the Hungarian Society for Separation Sciences (HSSS) Halász Medal Award recognizing research excellence in the separation sciences, before retiring in 2013.
Stacks Image 818