The History of the International Symposium on
Microscale Separations and Bioanalysis
Originally established as the International Symposium on High Performance Capillary Electrophoresis (HPCE), the first event was held April 10 – 12, 1989 at the Park Plaza Hotel in Boston MA. The meeting was founded by Professor Barry Karger, Northeastern University, and sponsored by the Barnett Institute/Northeastern University and the Bay Area Chromatography Committee. This first meeting featured oral and poster presentations that discussed the principles of separation in capillaries under high electrical fields; instrumentation development; and applications of HPCE, particularly in biotechnology. A summary of this meeting was published in Analytical Chemistry - Anal. Chem., 1989, 61 (6), pp 413A–415A.

This symposium represented the point in time where capillary electrophoresis first branched off from the HPLC community, giving the technology the necessary focus at a time when CE instrumentation was first being commercialized. The meeting’s name was changed in its second decade to MicroScale Bioseparations (MSB), as interest and attendance expanded in the related techniques of capillary electrochromatography, nanoLC, microfluidic and Lab-on-a-Chip devices . The stylized logo captured the acronym MSB in a DNA helix motif given the prominent role that microseparations have played in DNA sequencing and early completion of the Human Genome Project.  In order to further broaden the scope of the conference to a wider range of scientists, the organizing committee approved  the acronym of MSB to refer to "Microscale Separations and Bioanalysis" in 2015 that will be used as the official conference name for MSB 2016 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada.
Past conference dates and locations with the corresponding Chairpersons are listed below:
Date LocationChairperson/s
1989 Boston Barry L. Karger
1990 San Francisco Barry L. Karger
1991 San Diego James W. Jorgenson
1992 Amsterdam Frans Everaerts
1993 Orlando Barry L. Karger
1994 San Diego Shigeru Terabe
1995 Würzburg Hans Engelhardt
1996 Orlando Barry L.Karger
1997 Anaheim William S. Hancock
1997 Kyoto Shigeru Terabe
1998 Orlando Barry L. Karger, S. Fanali
1999 Palm Springs Edward S. Yeung
2000 Saarbrücken Hans Engelhardt
2001 Boston Barry L. Karger, William S. Hancock
2002 Stockholm Douglas Westerlund
2003 San Diego Aran Paulus, Andras Guttman
2004 Salzburg Wolfgang Lindner
2005 New Orleans Michael Ramsey
2005 Kobe Y. Baba, K. Otsuka
2006 Amsterdam Gerard Rozing
2007 Vancouver Robert Kennedy
2008 Berlin Andreas Manz
2009 Boston Jonathan V. Sweedler
2009 Dalian Hanfa Zou
2010 Prague Frantisek Foret
2011 San Diego Annelise E. Barron
2012 Geneva F. Kalman, G. Rozing, J-L Veuthey
2012 Sanghai Rong Zeng
2013 Charlottesville Jeff D Chapman, James P Landers
2014 Pécs Ferenc Kilár, Attila Felinger, András Guttman
2015 Shanghai Fukui Zhang, Pengyuan Yang, Norman Dovichi, Amy Y. Guo